EC Starts Legal Action against 20 EU Member States

The European Commission has sent requests for information to 20 member states which have not yet notified measures to implement in full new EU telecoms rules into national law. The deadline for implementing the new rules was 25 May 2011.

The new rules give businesses and consumers new rights regarding phones, mobile services and Internet access. These include the right for customers to switch telecoms operators in just one day without changing their phone number, the right to more clarity about the services customers are offered and better protection of personal data online.

While legislative processes are ongoing in all EU member states and a majority of them have informed the commission of some implementation measures, only 7 member states (Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Ireland, Malta, Sweden and the UK) have notified the commission that they have implemented the new rules in full.

The 20 other Member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain) are due to reply to the 'letters of formal notice' within two months.

If these states fail to reply or if the EC is not satisfied with their answer, it can send them a formal request to implement the legislation, and ultimately refer them to the EU Court of Justice.

Read the full press release.

Source: EC

Comments are closed.